elijah_craig_12yo

I’ve decided to make this more of a review portion of the blog instead of an introduction to a different vice.  I’ll feature liquors, beers, cigars, foods etc each Friday.  I did a introduction to bourbon a few weeks back, but today I’ll review my go to bourbon: Elijah Craig 12.

Elijah Craig is a brand produced by Heaven Hill distillery out of Bardstown, KY.  This bourbon is aged for a whopping 12 years and you can really taste it.This bourbon retails for roughly $30 so it isn’t going to break the bank.

The flavor is a bit spicy and harsh for non bourbon drinkers, but if you like bourbon and never tried it, I advise you to pick some up.   It has a nutty taste with a strong oak and spiced finish.  Its typically around 140 proof, so make sure you take your time with this one.

I like to pair it with a mellow honey cigar like an Acid Blonde.  Also, when I make steaks on the grill, I make a marinade out of it and mix it with some chopped garlic, salt, and pepper.

BTM Rating: 10/10

This isn’t some high end bourbon at all, but I’ve had some of the more expensive ones and it holds its own.  Heaven Hill also produces a 18 year variant that is a little more pricey, but you’ll know where that money went.

-J. Nyx

 

