two_wolves

Every day you wake up you start making decisions from the time your eyes open.  Do I get my ass out of bed, or hit snooze for the third time.  Once up, you ponder if you should go to the gym or stay home and watch TV.  Do you choose to study or learn a new skill or fuck around on the internet.  Every time you choose to do one thing over the other its usually choosing to do something beneficial over something of leisure.

Feeding The Dogs

Think of your decisions as feeding two dogs.  You have only one piece of food to feed both of them.  Every time you feed one, the other goes hungry.  The one you’ve fed gets nourishment, gets stronger, and survives while the other goes hungry, gets weaker, and is that much closer to death.

Habits good and bad seem to perpetuate into other similar habits.  If you sleep in, don’t do anything productive all day, then reach the night the day feels wasted.  When you get up, get to the gym, then work on projects you need to complete or study for a test coming up it makes doing other positive things later that much easier.

You Gotta Do It

A productive day for me is waking up at 5:00am to weight train.  I eat breakfast and get ready for work.  While at work I try to complete tasks, keep myself always working toward making myself better.  In any down time I’m studying or learning a new skill.  I complete all the obligations I have as well as all of the goals I’ve set for myself.  At the end of the day I can relax and feel accomplished.

Rewards

I am human and I think that you can reward yourself with vices and leisure from time to time.  At the end of the week, if your lifts are going up, your deadlines met, and you’re even 5% better than at the start of the week, then having a few beers on a Saturday isn’t so bad as long as you keep it in check.

Whatever your goals are, you have to ask yourself if what you’re doing right is making it closer to achieve, or is it setting you up to fail.  The choice is yours to make yourself great.

