vacation-workout

If you’re like me, you love weight training, and if you’re human, you love a good vacation.  The problem is when you’re on a lifting program, its hard to lug your weights to your hotel or vacation home.   Sure you could get a day pass at a gym where you’re vacationing, but I prefer home workouts, so today I’ll share my plan to keep my gains while taking time off.

But You’re There To Relax

Most people would just say fuck it and skip training for a week.  I personally get more than just physical benefits from lifting.  When I get up early to train, I have a mental high all day, and I feel like I can conquer the world.  Its my time to reflect on my life and goals, so I personally feel like shit when I don’t do some type of workout.

Also, when on vacation, most people don’t stick to their meal plan and drink a lot.  I try to make the best decisions when going out to eat, but nothing beats home cooking.  I do cook while on vacation, but we usually like to go out to eat 4 of the 7 days we take off.  If I’m still getting enough protein, why not do something with it.

Equipment & Plan

I am taking only some light equipment with me that I can use for a variety of workouts, but don’t take up much space.

Equipment:

(1) 35lb Kettlebell

(2) 25lb Dumbbells

(1) Set of Fat Gripz

Thats it!

Plan

Now, this isn’t my usual routine, but I feel like it is going to be perfect for a quick session of training while on vacation.  I’m incorporating body weight exercises and light accessory work:

Kettlebell Swings: 3 x failure

DB Supported Pushups: 5 x 10

Concentration Curl (Using FatGripz): 3 x 10

Kettlebell Rows: 4 x 12

Kettlebell Triceps Extensions: 3 x 10-12

DB Arnold Presses(Using FatGripz): 3 x 10

Goblet Squat: 3 x 10

Chair Dips: 3 x 10

These are what I like to do.  The whole thing takes me about 30-40 minutes and I do it every day.  There are tons of other things you could do with that equipment.

But Wait There’s More!

For some, it may be easier to get a day pass to a gym or strictly doing body weight routines.  I get that, but this works for me.  Also, many people say the week off from lifting benefits them or at least they don’t notice any negative effects of not training for a week.  I say do whatever you want.  At the end, you’re on vacation.  Spend it with your family and friends having fun and not worrying too much about it.

 

J.Nyx

 

